Aftab Shivdasani आफ़ताब शिवदसì

Aftab Shivdasani आफ़ताब शिवदसì

Rising sun production

Aftab Shivdasani talks about his new venture : HIS PRODUCTION "RISING SUN"

28 July 2009


Tell us about your new production venture?

I will be making an official announcement in December. I know people are speculating, which is good, but all I can say is that my production company is called the Rising Sun and I started this company towards the end of 2007 on my own. The main motto of Rising Sun is to make unconventional films commercially. I wanted to do this for quite some time now and felt the right time is when my passion is at its optimum.

Who are you planning to cast in your films? Is Aamna Sharif a part of your home production?

Besides myself, I like to work with actors who are talented and those who have the passion for good films. I don’t have a particular actor in mind. As to whether Aamna is part of my production or not is something you’ll have to wait and watch.

How did you come up with the name Rising Sun?

My name means the sun and there’s nothing better than the rising sun for a company. I have to say I am not obsessed with my name and didn’t want to make my company’s name Aftab Production and Sons (laughs)! I want my company to stand on its own, rather than tag my name along with it. It will represent the brand of the films it makes.

How does it feel to be a producer?

I feel fantastic taking on this venture. This idea was conceived when I was 30 and then I went about nurturing this idea. It feels very empowering to start a company of my own and liberating too, to do what I want. There’s nothing bigger than freedom.

Why do you think are many actors turning producers nowadays?

It’s difficult to generalise about it being a trend as I’m unaware of their personal agendas. I did this because I felt the need to do it. However I will clarify one thing: I will always be known first as an actor and then a producer. The production company is something that’s secondary because acting comes first for me.


Source: Khaleej Times


02/08/2009
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 4 autres membres