Aftab Shivdasani आफ़ताब शिवदसì

Aftab Shivdasani आफ़ताब शिवदसì

Aftab and money !!!!

 
 
Dec 24, 2009 (Khaleej Times - McClatchy-Tribune Information Services via COMTEX) -

That was Aftab Shivdasani's impromptu reaction to the sights and sounds of the Dubai Mall. The actor talks to City Times about his shopping spree, movies and 'relationship' with co-star Aamna Sharif

Sneezing, red-faced and plagued by a bout of allergies -- Aftab Shivdasani's appearance as he walked into the Ramee Royal Hotel, Bur Dubai, on late Tuesday evening definitely made for an unusual one, celebrity-wise.

Oddly enough, despite feeling under-the-weather, the actor's demeanour was rather pleasant. (A star that's well-behaved even when sick? Simply unheard of!)

In tow behind Shivdasani was a bellboy lugging several shopping bags; "I've always enjoyed shopping in Dubai. But this is the first time I've been to Dubai Mall and it's huge. Very larger than life! The aquariums, the fountains -- these guys really know how to spend their money," enthused the actor when we caught up with him prior to his 'Celebrity DJ' stint at the It's Mirchi club later that night.

From the likes of Versace to Zara, Louis Vuitton to Diesel, Shivdasani visited almost every store on the map. But his personal favourite shopping destination for the day was none other than River Island.

"I mostly shopped for clothes. I also bought my mother a small gift -- it's her birthday on Christmas day. And then I had a great meal at Asian Wok in the food court," said the actor, summarising his visit to the mall.

Shivdasani's mini break ends later today after which he will head back to India to make it home in time for his mother's birthday.

"I'm going to take some time out to enjoy my Christmas and New Year this time. I've had five releases this year, which is more than enough for any actor. Right now, I'm reading scripts and meeting people but haven't signed on the dotted for any film just yet."

Recently the actor turned writer and even producer for his last release, director Glen Barretto's Aao Wish Karein -- a romantic-comedy that was quite obviously inspired by Tom Hanks' memorable 1988 hit Big.

Unfortunately for Shivdasani, the movie was not necessarily as much of a success as the original.

"We had made it for a certain section of the audience -- namely families and kids. And they loved it. Some critics liked it and some really panned it, which is fine for a first-time effort," said the actor, his tone and manner seemingly unperturbed by the criticism directed at the film.

"Sometimes the comments are a little harsh. But it's part and parcel of the package and I try not to take it very seriously. I've never really been the blue-eyed boy of the media and neither is it a hateful relationship," mused Shivdasani.

However, the act of co-writing and producing a movie definitely worked in the actor's favour. And given the right script, he's all up for a repeat performance.

"The story of Aao Wish Karein had me so excited that I wanted to produce it. But producing a film is an added responsibility. It is very difficult to balance out the arts and commerce aspects of it. I would definitely like to do this again."

Shivdasani further claimed that as an actor the biggest high for him is portraying a dramatic and intense role such as the ones he did for his earlier thriller flicks Kasoor, Red and Ankahee.

"I love doing intense films, which is a fact that a lot of people can't seem to digest because they think that I have a cute or even comical face. So I do all these chocolate, lovey-dovey movies."

Rumours that the actor has been seeing his Aloo Chaat and Aao Wish Karein co-star Aamna Sharif (who was earlier said to be dating TV show host Rajeev Khandelwal during her Kahin to Hoga days on the Star Network) have been doing the rounds for almost a year now.

But in a surprising turn, the actor declared himself single when quizzed on his current status.

"That (his former relationship with Sharif) is something I don't want to dwell on right now. I'm single. Settling down is a decision that comes from within. And even though I'd like to do it some day, I need someone to settle down with."


Source: tradingmarkets.com


24/12/2009
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 4 autres membres