Aftab Shivdasani आफ़ताब शिवदसì

Aftab Shivdasani आफ़ताब शिवदसì

Aftab talks about AF

As Aftab Shivdasani readies to kick some butt in Acid Factory, he tells TOI that it’s the right aptitude that counts .
Aftab Shivdasani
 



 

 

 

 

 

With an intermittent break as a solo lead in Aloo Chat, you have only been seen in multi-starrers...
For me, it doesn’t matter if the film I’m part of is a multi-starrer or otherwise. What matters is whether the role offered is interesting enough. I give a go-ahead only after hearing the script. I go by my instincts.

But aren’t you ever apprehensive about being overshadowed by your co-stars?
I don’t mind doing a minuscule role if the character, as I said, is interesting enough. Excelling in that bit role is what counts most for me. I think one can still create an impact on the viewers’ mind even if he appears in just one scene.

Your forthcoming release, Acid Factory, is an action film, quite unlike what you’ve done so far. How did you prepare for the role?
It’s a totally different kind of a film, an intense, gripping tale that’s also out-and-out commercial. All the characters in the film lose their memory. So, there are two phases — one prior to the memory loss and another, right after. Moving back and forth in time was necessary. That was the most challenging part in the film. Before the camera would start rolling, we used to have regular rehearsals on the sets.

Tell us more about the character you play in the film...
My role in the film is that of an aggressive, edgy and violent guy, who never smiles. Possibly, the only time he smiles in the film is at the end.

In a recent interview, Dia Mirza had said that you used to keep to yourself on the sets of the Acid Factory, while others partied...
It was a hectic schedule for us, which stretched from 9 am to 9 pm. I used to be really tired by the time we wrapped up the shoot everyday. I preferred to relax after the pack-up. Partying after work was a difficult proposition.

Child actors turning into heroes suffer from an acceptability syndrome. Do you think your case is just the same?
Initially, people found it difficult to accept. With time, the problem got resolved. At the end of the day, it’s one’s aptitude that counts.

What do you prefer doing most — comedy, action, romance or thriller?
I prefer doing action films. I feel, action-oriented roles are far more challenging.

Does that mean Aftab is going to cast less of romantic spell onscreen from now on?
I am not saying that I’ll stop doing romance or comedy from now on. It’s just that I like action-oriented roles. I will do anything that’s interesting and challenging.

Last but not the least, what’s your relationship status?
I have stopped discussing my private life in public, long back.



07/10/2009
0 Poster un commentaire

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 4 autres membres